sambatra

[sam-ba-chra] blessed to be happy|happy to be blessed

Preparing

In talking with our family on Skype the other evening, I was reminded how blessed we truly are.  Austin and I are finally feeling settled into our life and work here in Madagascar.  It is hard to believe it has already been six months as we have traveled and moved and traveled and moved, all the while preparing for the new YAGM program.

We were reminded, by Austin’s father, that six young adults (our very wonderful job) are arriving into our care in less than two weeks.  It reminded me of being a volunteer myself: the overwhelming anxiety of packing the right things, saying goodbye to family and friends, being so excited about where I am going and wondering am I really prepared to do this?  What I realize now is how many people, around the world, are thinking and praying for us.

Austin’s dad reminded me how exited people are about the YAGM program; of how special and capable Austin and I are.  For me, knowing we are not alone, the continual support and love, makes our job and life abroad a little bit easier, makes each day count a little bit more, and helps when the translation of cultures is harder than first imagined.

And so I am delighted to say I am ready.  Leading volunteers into a year of international cultural exchange is an amazing job and I could not do it without the encouragement, guidance and understanding of our family, friends, church and co-workers, and loved ones worldwide that are thinking and praying for all of us each day.

-Tanya

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Preparing

  1. They couldn’t have found two more perfect people for this job! Through your understanding of what it’s like to be a volunteer and your genuine interest and appreciation for living in another culture… There is no doubt that you guys are perfect! Good luck getting everything in order and thanks for the update! Much love to you both.

  2. Jerry and Wanda on said:

    Pastor John, Austin’s dad said it best, and yes we are praying for you daily

  3. Yes you guys are amazing and I am certain God is moving and working in and through you both, no doubt about it!!! Give Austin a wet willy for me and know I am holding you both in prayer as well as the new set of volunteers headed your way. I want a skype date with you Wonton!!!! Let me know when works well for you!!

Leave a Reply

